Reviews for Amana RV Park & Event Center

| Great over night stop!

By user-5816026... on 2017-10-23.

Staff very pleasant and helpful, sites are very large and flat. Wifi is super. Will plan on longer stay next time for the local beer and brats.

| Nice place

By user-5778971... on 2017-10-23. Stayed 2017-09-02 to 2017-09-04

We've stayed here before. We were traveling on Holiday weekend - no place reserved- stopped in and they accommodated us - no sewer avail but we are in a nice setting- quiet - this is a great area to visit. Nice CG with super friendly and caring staff. Will come back again I'm sure. Was a 2 night minimum - but think that was due to Holiday and an event.

| I had to laugh

By user-5872524... on 2017-10-23.

I had to laugh at some of the reviews, I understand them all. It's an ok park and near Amana for shopping, dining and sightseeing. It is indeed in the middle of a cornfield. The spaces are long, all are pull through if you take two spots, they are all back in otherwise. The sewer and electric are in the center of the two spaces serving both spaces, it's an ok design. When we were there the park was less that 1/3 full and we were still not permitted to back across the invisible line at the electrical box. We were lining up our sewer and the caretaker came back on his golf cart and made us pull forward. I suggested since they were not at all full that it might be a nice courtesy to allow us that five feet. No, the rules are the rules. I can respect that. It was a nice, quiet night and very few trees so our satellite worked fine.

| Good Location, Nice Quite Park

By user-6523798... on 2017-10-23. Stayed 2016-06-22 to 2016-06-24

We stayed in a motorhome at $18 per night with Passport America. Very large park. We had a back in and all hook-ups worked. We stayed here to visit the Herbert Hoover Library, Museum and National Historic Site. Wonderful experience about a real humanitarian. The park is 1/2 mile from the village of Amana. Make sure you visit before 5 PM when EVERYTHING closes except the 2 restaurants and general store.

| Large campground

By user-5810898... on 2017-10-23.

This is a very large campground with gravel driveways and a lot of grass. Everything was well cared for except for the restrooms. There was only one set of restrooms and they were mediocre. Amana is a very nice community. Campground appeared to cater to groups and is nice for larger campers.

By user-5314978... on 2017-10-23.

To save money, time and headaches from the unwelcoming, many times rude, staff, stay elsewhere. This park caters to events and rallies. If you are not part of an event, you will not be treated with respect. Rallies over campers is their motto. If you have to be in the area, I would suggest staying at Sleepy Hollow in Oxford, IA. It is right off the interstate and much more convenient. They have many more visitors and long-terms for a reason. They are also open year-round. The Amana Colonies is not as it was 15 years ago. Many shops and restaurants have closed and they ship their goods in, nothing is authentic any longer. Sad. Note: The hosts are rude and remind me of the Gestapo. Stay elsewhere.

| Great open space. Grouchy old lady.

By user-5906363... on 2017-10-23. Stayed 2016-07-05 to 2016-07-07

This is a big open field with a lot of grass and some buildings for meetings, maintenance, etc...it feels like out west. Sites on the ends open up to a big side yard if you are pointed in the right direction. All utilities worked well. Good AT&T but limited OTA. There are very few trees and when I initially arrived and requested to move to be close to one, the old lady at the desk barked, "Are we going to play musical chairs here?" Which was rude and uncalled for, IMO. She appears to be IT illiterate and gave me a hassle about extending my visit with a credit card over the phone. Great CG for playing with your dogs in the back field. The laundry worked well with four units each; $2 washer, $1 dryer. No change machine and I did not want to deal with the Grouch again for quarters.

| Nice park in a great location

By user-4519230... on 2017-10-23.

Kind of an open grass field ambiance with amenities but I enjoyed it. Staff is nice, sites are level and it's close to everything. If you have a large or huge group, this is a great destination. If you're a lone traveler, this is your kind of place too.

| Unhappy

By user-5411034... on 2017-10-23.

If one likes camp in the middle of open field. One of the old guys in golf carts thinks he is Gestapo guard

| Big rig friendly

By user-5781291... on 2017-10-23.

Super easy sites for big rigs long pull throughs. Would not be case if busy season as sites back up to each other for hookups. Although if got there first could pull thru. Gravel entry roads and sites. One negative was no wifi service. Large meeting facilities. Very close to Amana colonies to tour enjoyed quaintness of area and shops. We stayed here in a 40 motorhome

| Nice park

By user-5417610... on 2017-10-23.

Great place to camp if going Amana. Close to town. Friendly owners and staff

| Basic RV park

By user-6410755... on 2017-10-23.

Large park with 400+ sites many with sewer and 50 amp. No pool or cable TV. No playground for kids. No trees so satellite will be no problem. No trees equals no shade so you will bake without air conditioning. Adequate rest rooms and showers but not enough if park full and people on sewer sites use facilities. Good WiFi. Very convenient to Amana colonies.

| RV PARK! ! !

By user-5775115... on 2017-10-23.

If you have a RV, then this is the place for you. They expect you to bring whatever you need with you. They provide the hook ups. Plenty of sites, with plenty of room for your rig plus toy. Close to the greatest little community.

| Big Park

By user-6616794... on 2017-10-23.

Great and friendly staff. Close to all local attractions. Will definitely stay here again

| Narrow roads

By user-5744640... on 2018-07-06. Stayed 2018-05-21 to 2018-05-22

Nice campground, friendly staff, large sites, but narrow roads and parking on your site.

| Restful couple of days

By user-4573835... on 2018-07-06. Stayed 2018-06-30 to 2018-06-01

Staff very friendly and helpful. Spacious sites with FHU. No cable (antenna picked up 4 stations). WiFi not bad. Love the thick grassy area. Picnic table. You can request a fire pit. Roads gravel so tend to kick up dust. Didn’t use the facilities. Some train and small aircraft noise but not bad. Great price with Passport America.

| Fit our needs

By user-5432949... on 2019-08-09. Stayed 2018-07-31 to 2018-09-04

Nice site. Reasonably level gravel. Lots of rain so grassy area soft. We don't need amenities but full hooks ups were great. Enjoyed being able to attend events at event center. No trees

| Convenient to Amana

By user-unknown on 2019-08-09. Stayed 2018-09-26 to 2018-09-28

The host couple when we checked in were very friendly and helpful with local area. The second couple was anything but. Very abrupt and not friendly. Customer servIce skills could certaInly be improved. Other than that was a nice campground. Roads too narrow to turn without going on to grass. Sites are back to back but decent spacing.

| Needs gravel !

By user-unknown on 2019-08-09.

Sites were full of puddles. And dog waste. We left a day early it was so bad

| Long term in Amana

By user-5852303... on 2019-08-09. Stayed 2018-08-27 to 2018-10-31

Stayed over two months here while working in area. Big park, not many trees,gravel roads and sites, decent laundry room, can pay weekly after paying monthly. During my stay record rainfall. Lots of ponding and I wish the sites had a little more gravel but under normal circumstances I don't think this would be an issue. For most part staff friendly and helpful. Amana is nice place to check out with some really neat shops but most closed by 6. If you want to eat some great German food there a couple restaurants open till 8. Wal-Mart 20minutes away. I have a large travel trailer and I checked out the other places in area. Marengo is really tight. A few lots in Oxford big but most of the lots are on a hill with lots of trees. A coworker had problems getting Dish working. All in all I would recommend. It worked for me

| Upgrading, amendment to long term in Amana

By user-5852303... on 2019-08-09.

As the park is closing for season they are spreading more gravel and grading all sites so I expect many of the problems from record rainfall in the fall of 18 should not be an issue in the spring of 19

By user-5293093... on 2019-08-09. Stayed 2019-05-17 to 2019-05-20

The park is a giant field with the RV sites organized in blocks of 16 sites with a center water and electric hookup that services four of the sites. The sites and roads are dirt and gravel and if there is rain, it can be very muddy. Each site has a picnic table on the grass area separating the sites. The park has showers, laundry and community rooms in the center of the park. The wifi worked and the staff was nice during check in.

By user-5327348... on 2019-08-09. Stayed 2019-06-29 to 2019-07-05

The roads coming in and out of the park desperately need to be graded. The showers are nice and clean and the laundry facilities are very nice. The people working in the office are extremely nice and helpful. The park could benefit from converting some of their building space to a club house or upgrade their play area. There is nothing for children to do in this park, but full hookups for $222 per week is reasonable.