Reviews for Charleston KOA

By user-4852532... on 2017-10-23.

We stayed here off and on for a week during rainy December, 2014. Good facility, clean bathrooms, friendly staff, woodsy and secluded for being in the middle of a town.

| Not for us!

By user-5820891... on 2017-10-23.

We stayed here in Nov 2015 visiting our Goose Creek relatives. They wanted us close by. We have a 40' motorhome. The folks were nice but the sites were pretty bad. We ended up on dirt that used to have a gravel base on it. Supposed to be a pull thru but we couldn't make the turn out so backed out. Many permanent people, one very scary beggar. He is harmless I was told. When we got ready to leave, we had to circle thru the whole outside loop and stop and ask folks to move their cars, pls let us by. Not pleasant. Anyway, it is not meant for bigger motorhomes and could definitely use some care and upgrading of the sites.

| Not up to KOA standards

By user-5823598... on 2017-10-23.

In the last 2 years and nearly 10k miles, we've stayed at enough KOAs to know what to expect: this was a disappointment. Person on the phone quoted us a tent price for our 22ft MH since we only needed W/E, but we were charged $40 upon checkout. There was a rotten smelling open dumpster near the main bathrooms which we discovered were out of service, so we had to use these portable bath houses which were not well maintained. Good news was that the W/E worked fine.

| Not up to KOA standards

By user-5823598... on 2017-10-23.

Person on the phone quoted us $33

| Not Bad...not Good

By user-5210789... on 2017-10-23.

After losing our reservation due to the 1000 year floods at Oak Plantation, we called this KOA for a spot. There was plenty of room as most campers had headed to higher ground. It seemed odd coming through a trailer park to get here, but the staff was friendly and for the first time ever walked us to our site. It was flooded, but hey... did I mention the 1000 year rain? So, we dropped our trailer and went to sleep. As I write this morning...the standing water is gone, but the blight becomes more obvious. There is a creepy maintenance area surrounded by an ill advised fence, a shipping container for a storage area...which could use some serious paint or better yet, replace with something better on the eyes. I don't feel any particular danger here like a previous reviewer, but I can hear the highway...not unusual for a campground. It is also a little noisier than I think would be usual, because the grounds crew are cleaning up after what must have been a miserable four days of heavy rain. The camping sites themselves are either class 5 rock or grass. There are lots of full hookup sites and the cable tv and internet work. I see mostly pull through sites and some big rigs in here. Tree branch levels are generally high enough not to interfere with the big rigs, and is super roomy for our little popup. Due to the rains and a need to be with family in the Charleston area, we are spending to an entire week here. While thankful for the availability, it is easily not on the top of my list of campgrounds I would like to return to. And the backed up toilet isn't the reason...that stuff happens.

By user-6471094... on 2017-10-23. Stayed 2017-02-03 to 2017-02-05

Very noisy at night, people drunk and yelling throughout the night

By user-6430866... on 2018-03-14.

| Charming

By user-unknown on 2019-08-09. Stayed 2019-02-01 to 2019-02-03

This campground was close to Goose Creek and Charleston South Carolina. The staff was very friendly and the campground was clean. You can tell they are making improvements on the sites which all seem very level. The deluxe sites have a concrete patio with a fire pit, gas grill, Table with chairs and swing. There is a new dog park and the children s play area also look new. There was some noise from the interstate which is only about a mile away. We will be camping here again.

| Would never go back

By user-unknown on 2019-08-09. Stayed 2019-05-17 to 2019-05-21

At the top of my list titled: worst campground list. There were feral cats roaming everywhere, we could not sit outside and enjoy the space because of the cats. Tried to use the laundry room and the mobile home park next door their residents had all of the machines full. Poorly managed the grounds need a good cleaning cig butts everywhere trash and debri. We would not go back.

| Would stay again

By user-unknown on 2019-08-09. Stayed 2019-08-02 to 2019-08-04

Read tons of reviews and they are getting better! My 1st KOA and the Charleston KOA did not disappoint. I read several bad reviews and the staff said they were working on those. We had a great large site and they have a nice pool, playground and game room with tons of personal touches. Staff was super helpful. I wish had more time to do all the activities here. I would recommend again! I stayed in B1 and that spot was huge. Our first spot was probably the smallest spot we ever had but they let me move. Ps there is a cop posted up on the weekends. I asked him what s up and he said they were looking for people who kept coming in to stay and not paying. He also mentioned he is there every weekend. I guess a good deterrent to keep the ones who don t belong out.