Reviews for Greenbelt National Park Campground

| Average for price. Paid less for better

By user-5851481... on 2017-10-23.

We stayed here for 3 nights and as we don't have a tow car caught the metro into DC. It was $16 a night, no electric water or sewer on your site but dump station available to use. Two hot showers per block. Warnings about ticks but we used bug spray and didn't see any. Sheltered sites. Got wokenone night by people setting uo a tent at 1am. They didn't stop making noise until 3am. Camp host 2 down did nothing about the noise. If you are 30 foot or longer you have to park in D loop. We are 31 foot but no way we could've gone into B loop. The walk to metro is a very steady paced half an hour from D loop. Metro is complicated. More so than Montreal or New York so read up before you go. Have plenty of small change or a credit card to pay. Might stay there again as there is nothing cheaper this close to DC but don't expect much for your money

| This is a great PARK

By user-5452280... on 2017-10-23. Stayed 2016-05-20 to 2016-05-27

Even though it's nestled far into the woods, it has everything you could possibly need or want in an RV park with dry camping. I have traveled across the country and have paid more than $16 a day is extremely low for a park of this caliber. I would certainly stay here again. It has places to take hot showers, a dump station, and fresh water throughout the entire park. Not far from the entrance of the park are grocery stores, Mall, and various other shops that would be needed .

| Perfect place to stop.

By user-5805858... on 2017-10-23.

Dry camping only but water and dump station are on site. Very secure camp host is on site and capital police cars are at the entrance. Host says they are driving through consistently. Green line training is a 20 minute walk tops runs every 6 or 15 minutes to DC depending on time of day. $4.85 rush fare. And this is the best part HOT showers included with camping fee of $16 or $8 if you have the senior or disabled national park pass. Able to get enough TV channels to entertain me for the evening. Giving the Walmart reviews I'd say it's worth paying to stay in DC. You can be at ease your stuff will be secure while in the city and get a nice large hot shower dump your tanks and fill with water. 5+

| Redskins Game Overnight

By user-5779917... on 2018-03-14. Stayed 2017-11-23 to 2017-11-24

Great location just minutes from FedEx Field. Spent the night here after an evening game and was a 15 minute ride both before and after the game with traffic.

| Gem

By user-5860096... on 2018-03-14.

Loved it! How amazing to find such a gem so close to extravagance and expense. This park is a bit noisier then your average park in the country. So convenient. A nice reprieve on the way out of the City. Best price imaginable in the great DC area.

| Alert

By user-6587410... on 2018-05-17.

Just be aware that this campground does not have electricity. Some RV apps indicate it does.

| Great Place Near DC

By user-5858568... on 2018-07-06.

If you have an RV or are tent camping in the DC area there are few options and it can get expensive. Greenbelt is a short drive from a Metro station that has ample surface parking if you need to drive your rig. Also near a bus stop. Most sites are wooded, a few get some sun. Some are level, some not so much. There are no utilities, but dump facilities. Rates are very reasonable. Be sure to make a reservation using the NPS web site. My rating is based more on location and price than facilities.

| Website could be better

By user-6751448... on 2019-08-09. Stayed 2018-08-02 to 2018-08-03

There are no hookups so it doesn t matter which way you re facing on the pad. Quiet time is from 10pm to 6am so no generators during that time. Plan your trip accordingly. You have to reserve online at recreation.gov because the park is cashless. Be careful choosing a site when you reserve. I chose by size (I think 35 feet was the longest), but the site doesn t tell you which sites are not RV-friendly. I chose 44 and it was on a hill and I could not level. The camp host made rounds and stopped and told me the sites that are closed are for those campers who reserved a site and got there and weren t happy with it. One of those was right across from mine (43, maybe?) but it was probably only 25 feet. When I found out I couldn t level my rig AND the site was dangerously uneven (I turned my ankle), after I had already talked to the camp host, I moved across the road without asking. I had work to do and I didn t want to waste time waiting for him to come by again. I squeezed my car in in front of my RV. In the morning I had a note on my windshield to please stop at the rangers office. It wasn t a problem, he was just confused as to who I was and why I was in that spot. If you have an RV that needs to be level, do not choose 42, 44, or 46. There are other hilly ones, too, I just don t remember which numbers. The one I ended up in was literally right by the shower rooms. Also, they do give a 50% discount for certain National Park annual passes (senior, military, and disabled, but not the regular annual pass).

| Not Big Rig Friendly

By user-4511651... on 2019-08-09. Stayed 2018-10-01 to 2018-10-03

Signage needs updating (confusing/inadequate), roads are narrow, not well maintained and low branches are in need of pruning several could not be avoided and hit our coach. Sites are small with grass/weeds that need cutting. Fees are great but park appears to be struggling financially and needed maint. has been deferred for too long. We have a 35 coach and we were towing.