Reviews for High Plains Camping

| $$$$

By user-4859067... on 2017-10-23.

Expensive Rented a tent spot from son Get set up owner ,father comes by wants another thirteen bucks on top of the twenty two bucks Just to sleep in van another five bucks and I could of stayed in a hotel room a quarter mile away Not a happy camper

| Convenient

By user-5080447... on 2017-10-23. Stayed 2015-06-04 to 2015-06-05

Easy on/off access. Had a spot out front and it was very dusty and a lot of interstate noise, I recommend trying to stay in the back section. NON SMOKING campground which was nice. Did not use facilities. A basic one night stay, adequate but could use some TLC. Not much around to choose from, pricey 36.00

By user-5895962... on 2017-10-23. Stayed 2015-06-26 to 2015-06-27

Easy access off #I-70 outside of Oakley, KS. Staff friendly & helpful! Site spaces are roomy. Suggestion . . should have a trash can in the middle of the campgrounds . . instead of 1 at each each at the far ends! Would stay again! (nd)

| Convenient

By user-5862048... on 2017-10-23.

EZ off, EZ on for interstate. Convenient for a quick overnighter. A lot of rules. Seemed they put their overnighters on the back row closest to the interestate. Had to pull all the way to the end of site for hoses to reach the hookups. Could hear highway noise although not overly intrusive. Didn't need laundry or baths so didn't check them out. Stayed here in a 36' class A with toad. WiFi was lousy where we were parked. Seemed expensive for what you get, $38.70 total with GS discount.

| Lots of Demands

By user-5316647... on 2017-10-23.

Park was clean. Bathroom clean but very dated. You definitely are made aware of what you CAN'T do. Signs everywhere on what not to do. 3 signs just in the bathroom stall. I specifying where the toilet brush is. Good for a quick stop if you are passing through.

| "Stickers" shock

By user-6322523... on 2017-10-23.

Ok. It's by I70. Big sites, ok water. Now the bad stuff. $36 and all the tiny little cockle burr things you can pick out of your dog's paws, coat, your shoes, carpet. These things HURT. The place needs some serious tlc. Oh, and don't drive the 3 or 4 miles into Oakley on a warm fall eve. The stench from the feed lots cover the whole town with the aroma of.....well, you know. While we were in the small bar on the place, the only guests, we were serenaded by a country song with lyrics such as "why don't we blah, blah, blah and screw. Can't think of a single reason to go back.

| OK for an over night

By user-5895586... on 2017-10-23. Stayed 2015-06-19 to 2015-06-20

Good location with easy on and off of I-70. Sites are level in an open field. No cable, No Picnic Table, very basic.

| Convenient and great value

By user-5803404... on 2017-10-23.

Have stayed before and it keeps getting better each time. Arrived in our 40 foot motor home with tow and was in.our site in 5 minutes. New owners have added many ammenities and upgrades. Sorry we couldn't be here on a night their pub was open, have read several great reviews about it.

By user-5989300... on 2017-10-23.

Great campground!

| It has potential.

By user-4824669... on 2018-05-17. Stayed 2018-03-14 to 2018-03-15

This campground has a LOT to offer... It's practically a one stop camp with most all your needs. HOWEVER, for first-time visitors who arrive "after hours" (more on that later), it was a bit confusing getting registered.  Certainly NOT for a lack of info, as it would take about 30 mins to read JUST the info posted up on the wall. When the sun is setting,  and your hubby is in the RV eagerly waiting to get parked and set-up and you're in the porch area trying to fill out forms, pay for your spot, and read all the signs,  it can be a bit overwhelming.  Not to mention that I cannot retain that much info from the registration area to our RV. Now, I'm a detail-oriented person,  so I loved having all that info, but it's not all that easy to decipher when you're not already familiar with it. For example, on the first page of the info packet was a tiny little piece of paper with a letter and 4 digits on it... no explanation that I could find anywhere (pic attached). We thought it was our site number. We checked out the map and looked around the campground trying to make sure we were in the right spot but all the site numbers were only 3 digits. We finally walked back over to the registration area to see if we could figure the situation out. As we were discussing the matter,  a voice boomed through a video door bell asking if he could help us.  He explained to us - thru the video door bell - that the number stapled to the top of the info packet was for the laundry room.  Good thing he told us because we wouldn't have never figured that out! !!  Another example, the map of the sites appears to be color coded (pic attached) but no legend or explanation of what the colors represent. I thought maybe some were 30 amp service, others were 50 amp service, some did not have sewer hookup,  whatever... well, we found out by a random gentleman passing by that the first spot we picked, in the yellow section, had NO POWER!! He said it was posted on the wall but we did not see it. Now about the office hours. .. this was extremely odd to me. According to the info packet, the office is CLOSED - are you ready for this??? from 8am to 9pm (pic attached)!!!!  So, if you expect to meet the hosts of this park,  you need to be a night owl.  I got the impression since "Everything in the park is monitored and recorded by video cameras that are monitored by park employees" (pic attached) than they must prefer to deal with guests thru the  video door bell where they can see you but you can't see them.  We arrived around 8pm, walked back to the office  around 8:30 and again the next morning at 11am because - SUPPOSEDLY - they have a store, and we also wanted to inquire about getting propane, but no such luck. Other than that,  the park is clean and appears well organized.  We were only there overnight so we really couldn't give first hand account of the amenities but they are numerous. Didn't see a pool or mini golf, but didn't walk around either. I did use the shower and it did not drain.  We went into the laundry room to see theused book swap but the sliding glass door that leads to it would not open.   When I called to inquire about availability, the woman I spoke with seemed annoyed as if I was disturbing her.  If you're coming in "after hours" which is pretty much all day, be prepared to pay $35 CASH and don't expect a receipt. Very interesting racket they've got going on here. Anyway, not my problem... I sleep with a clear conscience.  The video door bell voice seemed a tad less annoyed.  Perhaps we were there during off season. It's probably a really nice place during season - whenever that is, but we this was our experience.  I really appreciate the intention of this park and if we were to ever open our own rv park, this would be a good basis to start with. It has a lot of potential. I particularly appreciate the parks where the staff make you feel like you've arrived at a family reunion. High Plains misses the mark in this area by a long shot!!!

| Great For Overnight

By user-5833115... on 2018-05-17. Stayed 2019-03-23 to 2018-03-24

Nice campsite for overnight all sites are pull thrust and they have 50 amp. The restaurant is okay if you just need to fill your belly. Everything is frozen so don't expect fresh

| Ok...

By user-5878593... on 2018-07-06.

We stopped for an overnight stay and happy to find a place with full hookups. This place is not worth the $44/night charge though. Be careful if you have pets they have sticker burs everywhere and they got in our camper. *ouch* They do offer a 10% discount for several programs, military, etc.. They also have a small pool which was nice for getting energy out of my kids. It is right off the interstate, but we never noticed the road noise.

| One night

By user-5019884... on 2018-07-06.

We stopped mid afternoon because of the pool. It is hotter than hot outside. The sites were level with full hook ups. Water pressure is low. Cable and WiFi worked great. No shade. Didn’t use the bathrooms or laundry. But the pool was wonderfully refreshing. The cost was pricy for the spot.

By user-5479658... on 2018-07-06.

Next to 70. Nice friendly owner. Has seen better days somewhat run down.

| Oh My

By user-4979222... on 2019-08-09.

Do you want to know the truth? I don t like to make negative comments but after we got settled and I read the rules and knew that cameras were all around I got kind-of creeped out. 1. Told that cameras will be watching us if we decide to run naked . 2. Some kind of attitude that I couldn t put my finger on. 3. RV s with sewer hookups could not use the bathroom. 4. Cable TV is like watching TV in the 60 s with a bad antenna. 5. Stickers everywhere you step out, you will get tons on you. 6. Good news, it is right off highway 70. Bad news you can talk to the truckers as they go by. 7. They say there is WiFi, I tried all night and never got on. 8. No smoking, that didn t bother us but it may bother some. If they catch you you are kicked out with no refund.

| High Plains

By user-6283920... on 2019-08-09. Stayed 2018-09-16 to 2018-09-19

Convenient for I70 right at exit 70. A little pricey but hey it's right on the Interstate. 10% discount for Good Sam. Bar and restaurant on site, we enjoyed the Chesapeake seafood and draft beer. The place is a little run down and like others have said there are stickers in the grass so check your shoes and socks before you get in the rig, they are painfully to step on or get in your fingers.

| This is a fantastic place

By user-unknown on 2019-08-09.

We've been stopping here for the past few years on our way from Denver to Kansas City. Owners always welcomed us for great smiles an fantastic attitude! RV spots has all the hook ups. Water, sewage, power, even tv cable. There are burrs around, but easily taken care of when going back inside. There are restrooms and showers, however they urge the RV people to use there own. It's a matter of cleaning up after other people's "oddities". Who wants to do that? Anyways, the restaurant here is one of the best. Good is so good and the atmosphere is great!

| Would give negative stars if I could.

By user-unknown on 2019-08-09.

So, I wore a hat that supports President Trump. My beliefs are just that. My beliefs. I was told not to wear my hat, because "we've had issues". NOT in a polite manner, by the way. If we hadn't paid ahead, we would not have stayed. We were told we couldn't use the restrooms because we have one in our camper (there's a code to open the door), our kids aren't 16, so they have to have adult supervision at all times, the spaces are dirt only, the staff is rude, etc. I didn't have a great experience in the KOA in Limon, Colorado, but next time, that's where we are going.