Reviews for Lake Pointe RV Resort

| Don't Believe All You Read

By user-6407598... on 2017-10-23.

If you want peace and quiet, you will have that. No cable, no lake access (except for a little trail we found quite aways down the path). Granted it is off season but nearest town is 15- 20 minutes away. Small strip of stores nearby for must have items. Deer were everywhere which we liked. Even got a picture of one of the bucks. I expected more from their Web page, but oh well. Has potential but doesn't look like they are willing to put the money in to it.

| Great Park but not much to do in the area

By user-5794028... on 2017-10-23. Stayed 2017-01-18 to 2017-01-21

Park is great - lots of space and deer everywhere. We like hiking and wanted to do some of the local hikes we could see on Google. Only to find that, because all the good ones ("The Narrows") are on private land, you risk arrest for trying them. So a bit of a wasted trip.

| "The Best Kept Secret on Canyon Lake"

By user-5893442... on 2017-10-23.

The brochure says it is "The Best Kept Secret on Canyon Lake". I find this to be an overstatement. This "Resort" is a 3 star trying very hard to be a 2 star, in my opinion. I will give them credit for doing a great job with marketing. The first impression was that we made a mistake, as the landscaping at the entrance is overgrown plus the roads are gravel and bumpy. The office gives you a map and no one directs you to your site. It was a bit of a maze to find our site, and my husband waited until I had found it with our Jeep. The resort was overpriced for what you got. If I'm paying $45 a night I expect full hook-ups, not to have to drain my gray tank in their open field or have the honey wagon come dump my black tank once a week. However, I suppose that is better than not at all! There were some sites with a lake view. Our site sat across from all of the storage units. The only benefit to that was we had ample room to back in and it was a shaded site. Our rig barely fit into the site, there was rebar sticking up on the railroad ties around the site which could have punctured our tires had I not been diligent, and there was no room to park our Jeep at the site without impeding on what should have been your outdoor patio space. They have 2 pools, but I didn't see one person use them in the week we were there-- and it was hot! They have a nice decking area outside the office. The office has a lounge with a stacked stone fireplace. The bathhouse smelled musty but was clean, and the laundry facility appeared to be nice. There was a .85 mile loop with a nice fire pit and benches by the lake.I would walk down there to catch the sunsets, which was the best part about this campground. We also liked feeding the deer that would come to the open field behind our site--- some would eat from my hand. The campground was gated, which was nice. I had concluded that my original thought of a 2 star rating was now a 3 star. Then on the day of departure it had rained all night. So low and behold they closed the main path to exit because the gravel washed out creating erosion and a ditch. We had to make the next turn, which had we known would have taken a different route to exit because now it created a bad turning angle for our big rig and with low lying branches. Conclusion: bad first impression, improved impression during time of stay, bad last impression... Would not stay again.

| Great place!

By user-5773473... on 2017-10-23.

Friendly people, beautiful spot, amenities are older but there, cool towns 30-60min away. Enjoyed ourselves so much decided to stay for a month. Will definitely return!

By user-5904956... on 2017-10-23.

Pretty and quiet with lots of shady spots. The wifi is terrible but otherwise a nice place. We had to pass a background check and send a picture of our RV before we could make a reservation. I've never had to do that anywhere before. It's a gated park, so it's very secure. I'm not sure how that works for a quick overnight stay.

| Forgot to add to the review below

By user-5794028... on 2017-10-23. Stayed 2017-01-18 to 2017-01-21

The WiFi is absolutely terrible. Do not rely on it.