Reviews for Lakewood Camping Resort

| Motorcycles

By user-5390138... on 2017-10-23.

No motorcycles allowed in rv pack

By user-5885746... on 2017-10-23.

One of our favorite spots to camp in Myrtle Beach !

| Ron

By user-5804274... on 2017-10-23.

Good Campground for kids easy beach access no motorcycles or scooters cannot bring your own golf cart have to rent theres very very pricey much rather stay at the State Park

| Family vacation July 2017

By user-6146824... on 2017-10-23.

Stayed on site 6201. FHU site. Overall, very pleased with: the site location and size for my 38 ft MH, 50 amp power stability, food services, and pool. However, for the money, they should do a better job of pre visit site clean up and maintain grass. Additionally, WiFi is terrible. No need for bath houses, so not sure on the conditions.

| Very disappointed

By user-5788891... on 2017-10-23.

We reserved 2 sites across from the bathouse, thinking we could use it? We got the requested sites however the bathouse was closed then the next closest one was closed the morning after we arrived. We tried the next closest which was about 10 or 12 rows away and it had no hot water the entire weekend? I asked management to explain this and they said "sorry we didn't know they were shutting them down". They made no effort to satisfy our family. Then to top it off we called 911 for them when we saw the transformer in front of us smoldering and eventually blowing up causing us and most of campground to lose power for about 6 to 8 hours. First impressions go along way so we most likely will not revisit this campground.

| Awesome

By user-5476670... on 2017-10-23.

| Unimpressed

By user-5416085... on 2017-10-23.

First, it was a little more than $75 a night, which isn't horrible for the beach in August. However, the site we got was at the back of the park and was basically a dirt lot. State parks have concrete pads for the most part and at a much better rate. The dirt wouldn't have been a huge turn off if it hadn't rained every day for a week, but unfortunately it did. So we got to muck through the biggest mud hole you've ever seen, each and every day. The kids loved it. They did have security guards throughout the park, but I'm not sure what purpose they served. There are preteens hot rodding carts every where so don't look down while walking around. The water park is pretty cool but really the only redeeming quality outside of the actual beach. We'll be trying ocean lakes property next time we get a hankering for salt air.

| Sounds like we're very lucky they do NOT allow motorcycles. That's our only mode of transport when we RV. Bad reviews. Apache is better and cheaper.

By user-5799217... on 2017-10-23.

| Prices?

By user-4737491... on 2017-10-23.

I have camped here several years and different seasons. I dont think I have seen rates here as low as those quoted. Make sure you check it at time of reswrvation.

| Our First Visit

By user-5265663... on 2018-05-17. Stayed 2018-05-06 to 2018-05-12

Great weather, wonderful beach, above average camp. Folks are very helpful, was a bit of a problem that the store was being remodeled and they made NO provision to be able to buy supplies anywhere in camp.

| First Time Visit

By user-4735971... on 2018-07-06. Stayed 2018-06-17 to 2018-06-21

We heard about Lakewood through fellow campers in 2017 that go every year so we gave it a shot. As many other reviews state, you get an area not a site reserved so after debating, we selected an area and ask for trees (we have a pop-up). We wound up with the 1st treed site close to the beach. The site was great although the tree created issues as we back up as tight as possible to it and our power cord was using all 25' it could give so we had to shift a few times to make it work. Most sites would not have this issue. The proximity to the beach was great and so was the all inclusive bikes, putt putt, shuffle board, etc. While we were there, they were replacing all the bikes with brand new ones! Also having a lifeguard present and a raked beach was great. The bathhouse was fairly clean and I would recommend that they add outdoor showers as some were rinsing sand off in the bathhouse showers. Also in my opinion it's time to remodel the bathhouses as the mosaic tile looks like early 90's. All that being said, we would recommend this campground over the ones adjacent after looking at both of them.

| Amazing

By user-6196650... on 2019-08-09. Stayed 2018-08-16 to 2018-08-19

Stayed 3 nights and had a blast! We r in a travel trailer and had to back in. Really close , room on both sides though. We loved it here and we will be back. Expensive but with bikes, water slides mini golf all included it was worth every dollar.

| Great place to stay

By user-6220189... on 2019-08-09. Stayed 2018-08-04 to 2018-08-11

We stayed on 2nd St. Which is where you want to stay. It was quiet and not a lot of traffic. Anywhere near the beach and main are of the park is very heavy with car traffic and golf cart traffic (Kids with loud music). But we very much enjoyed it and definitely recommend staying away from main road.

| October 2018

By user-6146824... on 2019-08-09.

Stay on site# 6407. Great location, level site, nice grassy, and close access to beach. Wifi needs to improve, as the signal is weak at night. Since last visit, they upgraded various facilities: restuarant, gift shop, and entertainment building, which is great. Food service is much better, as they now have a full kitchen, etc. Overall, very pleased with the upgrades and they have improved site maintenance as well. Highly recommend this for a place to relax and enjoy the ocean and local events.

By user-unknown on 2019-08-09.

| Not the worst

By user-5226342... on 2019-08-09. Stayed 2019-02-15 to 2019-02-18

First thing I do not care for is that you do not know site number untill you arrive. While you can pick a section this doesnt help. The entire time on the lake front section we had many (over 50) ducks and geese nestled above our RV, and on our site. This means that no matter where you walk bird poo EVERYWHERE. Birds are nice to watch but not nice to have their poo tracked into RV. We went during off season and were not told, even though I asked before arriving, that all food, stores, even arcade are closed. The pool was not enjoyable. The sites are the smallest we have been to. Had the park been full it would have been close to impossible to fit our 36' class A in site. Overall we made the best of it because we were too far home and exhausted to head back right away, for $32 a night it is not terribly priced..BUT when the price almost doubles in season, I feel it would be a complete rip off. Not a luxury campground. Side note..bring dog poo bags. They have one place to get these and trash can. Which are as u enter the beach. And this place is huge with more fulltime trailers than I have ever witnessed. As we walked back from beach on day we decided...NC we were bored to explore and walk other half of campground...a fulltime resident in golf cart was apparently drunk and came inches from hitting my son and dog as we were off road and coming to stop sign he sped through and brakes would not come fast enough once he went through sign and finally noticed us in grass trying to dodge him. On resident side we noticed most speeding but this was the only close call to us being almost hit. Many contractors seem to have this as their place to park RV while working in city. Our wonderful neighbors were and had 2 dogs they left in the RV 24hrs day. Coming back only for 5 mins once at late night.

By user-unknown on 2019-08-09.

They allow motorcycles to drive to and from your campsite during bike weeks events. This is why we stay here. Very clean bathhouses. It's a tight fit for a 45 foot toyhauler but it can be done if you don't put out your back party deck. That is, unless you want to pay for 2 sites.