Reviews for Maverick Ranch RV Park

| Intriguing facility

By user-2364002 on 2017-10-23. Stayed 2015-05-20 to 2015-05-23

This is one of the nicest RV parks we've ever visited, offering the unique scenery of the desert southwest coupled with a neighboring resort facility that could do justice to a tourist center like Southern California or Orlando. The relationship between the two entities is important as the resort's facilities are also made available to the RV park guests. The park's showers, bathrooms and pool are all first class, clean, and during our stay, woefully underutilized as there were a high percentage of larger self-contained rigs in the small number of guests there during our stay. The staff was very helpful and seemed to be pleased to recommend the local places to visit. The RV park had few other guests during our stay attributed to the time of our visit. The park's WiFi worked well but we did experience some disconnects on occasion. The Cable worked well but we were charged $2.00 per day for service. The individual sites are large, concrete with all connections well placed. It's important to keep in mind that commercial outlets such as grocers or fuel are scarce and provisions should be acquired either at Fort Stockton (Walmart there) or in Alpine. You'll pay 10 to 20% more for fuel nearer or in the National park. The RV park participates in the "Dark Skies" program which asks guests to mute or extinguish all outside lighting for the other guests' enjoyment of the spectacular view of the stars after 9:00 pm and they ask that arrivals be planned for 9:00pm or before. Maverick Ranch RV is a very nice facility and only the distance would keep us returning. We stayed in a Casita travel trailer, Site 101.

| Loved it

By user-5281104... on 2017-10-23. Stayed 2015-03-07 to 2015-03-10

This was our first trip to Big Bend, and I am so glad we stayed at Maverick Ranch. The park has a nice, open feel with large sites and level concrete pads. Many of the pull-through sites are arranged in alternating directions, which is perfect if you're traveling with someone else. Even if you're not, I thought the setup really encouraged socializing with your neighbors. The views are beautiful from the RV park, and there are short hiking trails right next to the park. The staff was friendly and very attentive. Also, the resort restaurant across the street had good food and amazing views. We will stay here again when we come back.

| W

By user-5866074... on 2017-10-23.

W

| Yep, this is the place for Big Bend

By user-5891111... on 2017-10-23.

An open, somewhat arid (what can you expect in this area) well maintained CG. Easy in and out of spaces. Some can be arranged to be "facing" if your traveling buddy wants to open out to your open side as well. Nice feature. Good 3-point hookup. Nice pool. We'll be back.

By user-5061358... on 2017-10-23. Stayed 2016-05-04 to 2016-05-07

We stayed here three nights and had a really great time. The rv sites are level and the views are great! Our site was #48 and it was close to the bathrooms and had excellent views of the mountains. The bathrooms were kept very clean and the pool is nice. The water was a bit cool right now but the temp outside is 104 degrees so it was nice to get in. The staff here is very friendly. There are several places to eat nearby and a gas station in Lajitas.

By user-5847560... on 2017-10-23.

We stayed at the Maverick RV Ranch & Resort for 4 nights and had a wonderful time the site we had were nice I think the park could use a little updating. The laundry mats were nice and clean a little pricey. The staff was very friendly they do have Wi-Fi but it wasn't very good it was a very weak signal their TV reception we paid extra for and we never got a clear picture. Other than that we would stay there again the scenery around the camp is beautiful.

| Big Bend area

By user-6415544... on 2017-10-23. Stayed 2015-01-07 to 2015-01-08

Big rig friendly, full hook-ups, 30-50 amp, free wifi. Cable is $2.00 extra. Real nice clubhouse with big outdoor swimming pool. Ate at Thirsty Goat Saloon. Good warm, delicious food. Passport America rate is $19.50.

| Great Place to Stay in the Big Bend Area

By user-4557224... on 2017-10-23. Stayed 2014-01-13 to 2014-01-18

This park is very well maintained and the staff is friendly. Nice view of the area and good location to tour both east and west. AND they have a goat for a Mayor - how much better can it get than that?

| Disappointed

By user-6232784... on 2017-10-23.

Arrived around 1 PM, Do you want cable, $2.00 extra, sure, sorry we don't have any sites left with cable. Around $115.00 for 3 nights no cable. Asphalt pad was cracked with weeds in the cracks and starting to crumble, pad was not level. Beautiful views. Save some money and stay at one of the RV parks at the junction of Highways 118 and 170 and be 17 miles closer to Big Bend. ,

| Nice

By user-5795539... on 2017-10-23. Stayed 2016-04-24 to 2016-04-26

We spent two nights at this location. Sites are large and most have a fire pit. All gravel and quite dusty - to be expected, you are in a dessert. Very quiet and a great place to see the stars. We paid $35 per night. WiFi was so-so, which was a disappointment (minus one star because of this). Verizon and AT&T had good cellular and LTE strength. I would stay here again.

| Enjoyed our stay

By user-6217334... on 2017-10-23.

Stayed here Thanksgiving 2014 with two class A motor homes. Checking wasn't smooth because they mixed up our reservation. However, the park is well maintained, the staff are friendly, and the location is terrific for exploring both the national and state parks. Being so close to the magnificent views on Ranch Road 170 is an added bonus.

By user-6074715... on 2018-03-14. Stayed 2018-01-17 to 2018-01-19

Really enjoyed this park! The park itself is beautiful and the amenities are nice. Staff were all friendly. The night sky views here are incredible! The WiFi was spotty, and not every site offered cable hookups.

| First class

By user-4951653... on 2018-03-14. Stayed 2018-01-29 to 2018-02-04

We spent a week here. Lots are plenty big with our lot being one of the biggest and not facing other RVs (#47). The showers are huge and clean. The laundry room is big and clean ($2/load to wash and $2 to dry). There is a club house that has books and puzzles and games. The front desk has dvds for loan. A quick bike trip up the hill to a different part of the resort has a couple of restaurants and a bar with beautiful views of the rio grande. The park itself has amazing views.

By user-4605557... on 2018-05-17.

Nice park. Make sure to get a site near the wifi tower if you can.

| What a view !

By user-unknown on 2019-08-09. Stayed 2019-12-30 to 2019-01-04

What a great place to stay! Staff was great - sites were large and flat. Fire pit in each site. About 40 minutes from Big Bend National Park - right beside Big Bend Ranch State Park. If you have a chance do the golf cart tour at Lajitas golf resort.

| Big park with spacious sites

By user-5338918... on 2019-08-09.

We stayed a week in Dec/Jan. Spaces are level, I believe 100 sites. Full hookups. Very quiet for the amount of sites. WiFi comes and goes and is very weak. We couldn t pick up any TV stations in the area. Don t rely on WiFi for TV. The office has some DVDs to borrow. Very nice staff.

| Nice Park

By user-unknown on 2019-08-09. Stayed 2019-02-09 to 2019-02-14

Nice park with excellent facilities. Our site was level pull thru with full hookups. No trees so good satellite TV. Staff was helpful and friendly. Wifi very spotty and dropped internet often. Wifi was good at club house at times. We stayed in 35 ft motorhome and would stay here again

| We loved it!

By user-5778595... on 2019-08-09.

We truly enjoyed our stay here! We meet Bob and his wife who manage and keep the park clean. The pool was awesome after a hot day of hiking in the park. We used the laundry room which was clean, laundry was $2.00 a load to wash and $2.00 to dry. Kind of expensive but it was a nice convenience. Nice proximity to Terlingua and you get to use the hotel facilities which was super nice. I had a massage and hubby and brother went zip lining, all booked through the hotel. Connie, the masseuse was awesome! We would totally go back!