Reviews for Medora Campground

| OK, Great Location

By user-1327001 on 2017-10-23.

This park is improved from last year. There is new crushed rock on the parking pads so the mud and dirt is not as bad as in the past. The bathrooms were clean, they were not last year. Office staff were friendly and competent. The best thing about this park is that it is just a few blocks from the entrance from Teddy Roosevelt National Park. Be sure you get a site long enough for your rig, some are very short and it is difficult to park your tow. Wi-Fi worked sometimes but not during peak hours. There is a park for kids nearby with a pool and other attractions but it does cost extra to use. It is also very close to the attractions in the town of Medora. We drove the National Park Loop in the evening and saw a huge amount of wildlife close up.

| Good site, good campground

By user-6731822... on 2017-10-23.

We stayed here on a Tuesday night in a tent. Yes sites are close together, but it's not over bearing. We arrived about 8pm. No issues with the staff. Nice and friendly. Restrooms were nothing special, flush toilets, the one had stuck in a constant flush, they attempted to repair late night but unable to at that point. They shut the water off over night to that one. We left early morning so I can't say how long it was left off. But the fact they tried to repair late at night tells me they have pride in a working facility. If I had to find something to complain about it would only be that we could have been given a site that was in an every other fashion to space us off our neighbor. Other than that I have no complaints.

| Close to musical

By user-6221580... on 2017-10-23.

nice campground. if you don't like having neighbors 15 feet from you this isn't for you. Musical and pitchfork dinner is right across road.

By user-5894879... on 2017-10-23.

Nasty. Sites are right on top of each other but the worst thing is the sewer hookups. Our hookup was in the neighbors yard & the hookup for the neighbors on the other side was under our picnic table. Will not return there.

| Sites are too close

By user-4776769... on 2017-10-23. Stayed 2017-09-14 to 2017-09-17

We stayed at the end of their season so the campground was empty. Would not stay during the high capacity months as the sites are as close as I have ever seen (7+ years of camping). Easy to level our 38 foot travel trailer. Not sure where else one would stay in Medora. The other campground did not look any better. Very close to the Park. Don't expect to get groceries at the local store; stock up in Dinkinson if you are coming from the East. I give it 5 stars in September but probably 1 star if it was crowded.

| Beautiful campground!

By user-6431665... on 2017-10-23.

Nestled in the scenic valley of the Little Missouri River! Lots of history in this area. The Theodore Roosevelt National Park is 1/2 mile away, which has a gorgeous scenic loop drive. We rode our bikes 1 mile down the road into the cute country western town of Medora that offers tons a shops, restaurants, the famous Medora Musical, Pitchfork Steak Fondue, and the Cowboy Hall of Fame. So fun to experience the newly renovated western building. Highly recommended!

| Dusty roads, muddy river, condescending manager.

By user-5906363... on 2017-10-23. Stayed 2015-06-28 to 2015-06-29

All of the information in the previous reviews is correct. But...there are no speed breakers on the roads so drivers fly through here at dangerously fast speeds. The roads are some gravel but mostly dirt. You, your coach, and your dogs will be constantly covered in dust. I can't even imagine the air quality (or lack thereof) for the tents on the ground. The sewer at my site (A) and the others in this row have a cap covering them that can be difficult to remove when hot (expansion). When I called for assistance, the phone number posted rang directly to the manager's cell phone. She told me that it was her day off and that she could do it tomorrow. This was not the first of her bad attitude that I had experienced over the phone. However, I do applaud Gabrielle's good customer service at the front desk. There is a good AT&T signal and the WiFi in "A" worked well. There is NO signal for OTA TV or radio stations. There are large fields that would be perfect to let the dogs run after a frisbee, but they had not been mowed when I was there. I tried to like this place, really I did, but I will look for greener pastures if I ever return to Medora.

| Friendly people, good facilities.

By user-5282814... on 2017-10-23.

We enjoyed our stay! The location is perfect and the grounds are quite nice. The showers are clean, laundry area is clean, I really think it's a very nice park with super nice staff. Fire pits, a nice kids play area, grills and hook ups. It was a great stay for us, although short.

By user-5889426... on 2017-10-23. Stayed 2016-06-09 to 2016-06-11

Sites are very tight and close together Weeds and grass were high. It didn't appear that the campground was very well taken care of Large potholes in the roads. Our neighbors sewer connection was under our picnic table! No lighting for nighttime use at the entrance or throughout the park We can't comment on laundry our bathroom facilities because we didn't use either one

| The Closing date

By user-5895779... on 2017-10-23.

Arrived here on September 13th and the park was already closed for the season.

| Not sure what others want in a campground.

By user-6453190... on 2017-10-23.

No, this is not an RV resort, it is a nice, quiet, picturesque campground. The roads are not paved, but dust did not seem a problem. The staff was very friendly and helpful in what was worth seeing and not. The made suggestions we took them up on and felt very well informed. No problems at all with the hook ups, TV is nonexistent, WiFi is quite good and Version works great. We don't rely on TV signals or radios since we use our Bluetooth for toons and satillite for TV. We have a Boxer who absolutely loved running thru the foot high grass fields that surround the campground. She is a bit of a barbarian, however. All in all I would recommend this campground to anyone wanting to visit this part of the country. It is a beautiful part of the country to behold.

| This was a great Campground for us!

By user-5858017... on 2017-10-23.

After reading the reviews, I was a bit concerned about booking here....but am glad we did. It is a big, clean, well-run, busy campground. The sites are a bit snug...but you can easily use your slides and awnings with plenty of room to walk around and eat at your picnic table. The sites are level, brown gravel and are plenty long for big rigs and tows. There are several bathhouses that are more than adequate....however there is no air conditioning in there...so early mornings are best. FHU were adequate and easy. Be aware... no tv and WiFi is slow and a bit weak....but you really want to be outside here anyway. Plenty of room to walk pups, and playground and swimming pool at front entrance areas. The campground is directly across from the entrance to Steak fondue, Medora musical and the Ch√Ęteau. We stayed here 5 days in a fifth wheel and would definitely come back.

| Good location

By user-5807965... on 2018-07-06.

Average park for this area. Numerous pull through sites, full hook ups. Good WiFi. No cable. Sites a little close but not bad. Not enough gravel and grass so fairly dusty. Nice staff.

| Nice Campground

By user-6421791... on 2019-08-09. Stayed 2018-05-24 to 2018-05-25

Used as a base for Theodore Roosevelt National Park it was quiet and convenient. It was also May 24, 2018 and not the height of the season.

| Great place!

By user-unknown on 2019-08-09. Stayed 2019-07-03 to 2019-07-08

The campground staff and everyone we met in town was so nice and welcoming. We loved the small town atmosphere. This is an older, all natural campground with lots of charm. You might need leveling blocks for some sites but hey.. you're camping! Even though the sites are a little close together, it is a beautifully shaded place and convenient to all the attractions in Medora. The office is quaint with a nice little store. Bathroom/showers are dated but spotless! There is a city pool down the road for a fee. Campground is owned by a non-profit so there are no Good Sam or other discounts which is no big deal. A really nice get-away for us.

| Great Place for TRNP and Musical

By user-5818465... on 2019-08-09. Stayed 2019-07-11 to 2019-07-15

Second time staying here. Pull thru sites available with full hookups. Some under cottonwood trees. Dusty, not a lot of paved surfaces, if windy. On the positive side, very close to the TRNP South Unit park entrance and town. Madera Musical is across the street. Thursdays are senior nights with 15% discount tickets. Fireworks every night around 9:30 pm.