Reviews for Santee Lakes Campground

| Pure deplorables

By user-5853674... on 2017-10-23.

Why do "some people"have to ruin everything? With their big boy pick ups and dirt, foul language and offensive behavior?

| Disgusting

By user-4960081... on 2017-10-23. Stayed 2015-03-20 to 2015-03-21

We were planning on staying here for one night on our way back from Florida, arriving late around 9 pm. We called ahead & was told just to find spot & pay in the morning ... very good ... We had a hard time finding a vacant spot, when we found one it was so tight & we had to dig out the sewer connection. Then we went to check the washrooms ... TRULY DISGUSTING ... we left immediately. DO NOT STAY THERE

| Trucking Family

By user-6509145... on 2017-10-23.

DO NOT STAY HERE! The only nice thing I can say is they gave us a fund! Mostly permacampers, nasty sites, no fire rings (fires built just anywhere) , laundry "Closed due to rain?!?!" More like closed due to septic system overload from too many permanent residents! Mayfly swarms, pool closes at 6pm, no swim beach (area shared with falling in fishing pier) just generally run down and basically no rules, ESPECIALLY on the weekends! We didn't want our kids to ride their bikes because of all the drunks on golf carts! Worst campground we have ever been to by far!

| OMG - No Way

By user-5853674... on 2017-10-23.

The other review was right. Simply Horrid.

| Improved but still very lacking

By user-4596359... on 2018-05-17. Stayed 2018-04-18 to 2018-04-19

We stayed as everything else in area was full. They are becoming a KOA, and charged 55.00 a night now. Most of the permacampers mentioned before are gone. But we had to try 3 sites before we found one that worked. No water or spigot at first site, faulty electric at second. Roots everywhere. Did not use bathhouse or laundry.

| Beautiful Stop

By user-6729044... on 2019-08-09. Stayed 2018-08-31 to 2018-09-03

Well worth the stop. The negative reviews are mostly before and just as this park has been transitioning back to a KOA. They have tons of improvements going on everywhere. The park has a nice pool and a well stocked camp store. Immediate escort to your site, morning trash pickup, decent bath houses and a gorgeous view of Lake Marion. There is a real nice walking pier and a big beach area and swimming area. This is our second time here in a month and we will be back for sure. The only lacking fact for us is water pressure that isn t super consistent. Got about 40 psi the last time and about 28-38 when we hooked up yesterday. The pressure is all over the place depending on what the demand is throughout the park.

| Hidden Gem

By user-5823461... on 2019-08-09. Stayed 2018-07-13 to 2018-07-15

Great location right off I-95 with nice beach area on the lake and a fishing dock. Our german shephard loved swimming in the lake. Sites are hit/miss with shade... it either has it or doesn't (our site didn't). Will definitely stay here again on I-95 travels.

| Great KOA

By user-unknown on 2019-08-09.

We were evacuated from Myrtle Beach South Carolina on Tuesday, September 11, 2018 due to the impending arrival of hurricane Florence. We thought we might be safe from the storm in Sommerton South Carolina and quickly made reservations at the Santee Lakes KOA. We arrived Tuesday morning hoping to stay until Sunday when the storm was gone. As it turned out on Wednesday morning the forecasted direction of the hurricane was changed to come almost directly over this campground. We then decided it would be much safer to just go home. This KOA gave us a full refund for the nights we could not use. This campground is beautiful. It has been newly remodeled and all the hook ups appear to be new. The pool was nice and would have been great to use if we had had the opportunity. The campground is located on the banks of Lake Marion, just minutes off of I-95. The beach for swimming is small but there is a dock and it s certainly big enough if you want to swim in the lake. The laundry room and small store were also very nice. We would highly recommend this campground to stay for a period of time or as a stop off on route 95. Best of all the people who work here are very friendly and very helpful.

| Could be a great KOA, but...

By user-6336722... on 2019-08-09. Stayed 2018-09-05 to 2018-09-06

We stayed overnight on our way south. This a new KOA, but is still definitely transitioning. Their location right on the lake with private beach is beautiful. They're updating infrastructure such as electrical and sewer, but there's no cable. Very convenient to I-95 but far enough not to hear it. Stores are a couple miles away across the lake, but not too far. Big downside are the long term trailers / residents. When you allow building of screen room add-ons to RVs there becomes a tipping point of campground or trailer park. As far as people being inconsiderate, i.e. using my lot as a shortcut with their ATV, that's an unfortunate reality today that I corrected myself. Next time we pass through I won't rule this one out, but will probably look for other options first.

By user-5399203... on 2019-08-09. Stayed 2019-02-24 to 2019-02-25

Two nights on the way home from The keys. Still improving. Great size sites, eletric up grades complete. Bath houses clean and plenty of hot water. A big plus the resturant next door a walk away. Food great service great. This one is a keeper..

| Pleasantly Surprised

By user-unknown on 2019-08-09. Stayed 2019-03-31 to 2019-04-01

We stopped here on the way home to PA. Initially not impressed with the sites as they are dirt and partially uneven but we really appreciated the lake view and restaurant next door. We found it was a very pleasant stay overall. right off of 95 with a diesel station very near to the campground. We travelled in a 40 foot motorhome with tow car.

| Peaceful

By user-unknown on 2019-08-09.

Nice view of the lake. Peaceful evenings watching the waves.

| Plenty of Trees!

By user-6123118... on 2019-08-09.

I love a nice shaded campground and this is it. Sites close to the lake are extremely uneven and required some serious leveling. Go closer to the pool/office for more level sites. Water pressure was minimal, had to resort to filling the fresh water tank and using my pump, not the first time I've had to do this at a campground. My one complaint would be the lighting throughout the park, lots of overhead (in the trees) lighting that takes away from the ambience at night. Great spot right off 95. Road noise is present but not obtrusive. Would definitely stay again on our travels along 95.

| Overnight stay

By user-5857344... on 2019-08-09. Stayed 2019-07-02 to 2019-07-03

Appears nice enough our stay was just to sleep and we pulled out at 4am not fair for me to say. We will come back with more time