Reviews for Southern Hills RV Park & Campground

| Jimbo

By user-5313979... on 2017-10-23.

Watch out! Send a confirmation and then charge your credit card more money after you set up. Muddy sites, Jacks sink in mud. To top it all off, some idiot used rotor tiller and dug up all "the lawn area" as it is called,turned into 6 inches of mud after a little rain. Ruined 2 pair of Sox and shoes trying to hook up electric and water. Then had to disconect, still mud! The 2 in charge were to bring in more stone 2 years ago and never put anything in. Yes 2 years! State they have laundry. Yeah they do. 2 cheap used dryers, 1 will not work, the other will not take money because change box is full. Nope, can not empty it. That would be too easy. They did not get a key made for it. Probably saved $2 bucks on a key. Buy used junk, you get used junk. Just to add the " icing" on the cake, the two septic tanks are overflowing all over the ground! Terrible stench when wind blows. Some noise from 4 lane hyway all day and night.

| Ok for overnight

By user-6582819... on 2017-10-23.

If you need to stop for a night or two this place is ok. Just nothing to brag about. Limited signs, no office, sat in lot for 15 minutes before host showed up and then she seemed grumpy like I had woke her up. NOT friendly at ALL. Poor first impression!!! Place rather unkept, lots of tall weeds, no real shade but bathrooms were nice. NOTHING other then a place to set up. Doubt if I would ever return.

By user-5881161... on 2017-10-23.

I came here last fall, stayed through the winter with no problems at all with the managers. These negative remarks are completely untrue. I'm moving on simply because I became a full time RVER to be able to enjoy different parts of the country. I've very much enjoyed my stay here. Thank you to the managers for for kindness and hospitality!

| Alabamaguys

By user-5313979... on 2017-10-23.

Paid for 3 nights but could not stand the smell from overflowing sewage right next to us and our tent. Left day early. No refund. Wish I could rate at 1/2 star or lower. Several other campers are not happy with mud, or how they are treated by the supposed owners. They are being held hostage. If you leave early, they will charge you the full daily rate, weather you have a discount or not, and you have no say. They WILL charge your credit card without your approval. We seen the email owners sent. We here been camping since kids, but never heard anything like this.

By user-6442888... on 2018-05-17.

We stayed here a few days in sept 2017. Wonderful place with great host. Would stay again.

| Wonderful Park

By user-5001115... on 2019-08-09. Stayed 2018-09-07 to 2018-09-10

Do not let the bad reviews keep you from stopping here. I selected because it was a passport america resort and was expecting below level standards (past on other PA stops) I was wrong. This place is great, stayed three nights the spots are wide and brand new gravel. the host lady checking in was very nice offered suggestions and directions of things to do in town. The host man was working on the grass areas between each spot grading them and putting down grass seed. This is close to everything and was not over crowed. Did hear a little bit of highway traffic but it did not seem to effect us. Easy access on and off the highway also for big rig, very nice for bigger rigs.

| Nice location near Mount Rushmore and The Badlands

By user-5835292... on 2019-08-09.

This is a nice park that the owners have made some apparent improvements to in the recent past. The campground is level and so are most of the sites. The bathrooms and showers were basically brand new. The laundry facility was nice and priced properly. There is some road noise, but that was okay. This would be a 5 star rating, but they charged an extra $5 per each of our three children and that seemed excessive. We had been on the road for nearly 5 months straight at this point and no other place had charged us extra for our young children (between 6 and 12 years old). Fortunately, we have a Passport America membership so that kept our cost to $33.50 per night. The Passport America discount was only applicable to three nights, so we left after three nights. CoxFamilyTravels

By user-unknown on 2019-08-09.

Price was 22.00 for passport America. Great campground for a work day on the camper. Good gravel. Level sites. Sewer hookups really done well. Wifi is stable. Laundry is clean. Water pressure good. Plenty of space between campers. Really well thought out park. Just don't expect a nice view. Also really close to Custer wildlife loop.

| Great Park

By user-unknown on 2019-08-09. Stayed 2019-07-11 to 2019-07-14

As everyone has said - the bathrooms are very clean which really helps make a pleasant stay. The spaces are fairly level and easily accessed. The gravel is not that pea gravel that gets drug into your rig at other parks! Each space had a grassy area with young trees. The owners are very friendly as are the camp hosts. You can tell that they take pride in making their camp one of the best in the area. I would highly recommend this place.

| Very Good Park

By user-5781209... on 2019-08-09. Stayed 2019-08-01 to 2019-08-08

Bike week was on in Sturgis about an hour away. Biker or not that is worth a visit. When would you ever see half a million bikes in one area. Back to the park - agree with a lot of the other comments. Level solid gravel sites with a grass strip. Showers and laundry are very clean. Hwy. noise is a bit much. Try to get a site in the middle of the park. Avoid the row across the back of the park. Was converted from back-ins to pull-thru's and didn't quite work. OK for smaller units. Host was great. Very convenient to the Badlands and Mt. Rushmore areas. $30 at the weekly rate. Passport America but not during Bike Week. Did not increase their price either as most other parks do.