Reviews for Sunshine Key RV Resort & Marina

| Great location on the water

By user-5832789... on 2017-10-23. Stayed 2016-11-13 to 2016-11-20

We love the location, and Encore is working to improve the park. We had a lot of water problems with low pressure. Then they had a break and we were warned not to use the water without boiling it first. They are also cheap in the off season and refused to turn on heater in pool and it was too cool to use in November. Staff are generally friendly.

By user-5862830... on 2017-10-23.

No shade. Sites are too close together.

| A Real Gem

By user-6554790... on 2017-10-23.

Our reservation to stay here was made weeks before (everything in the Keys was booked because of something called "Fantasy Fest"-but that is another story ENTIRELY!). We arrived after dark, checked in at the guard gate and were assigned to a spot in the front of the park near the highway. The next morning we moved to a large, gorgeous site right on the ocean. It was a platinum-premium site and well worth the difference in price. Gorgeous, well maintained pool, decent laundry facilities. We spent 6 nights here in our 5th wheel and would return.

By user-5963445... on 2017-10-23.

This place has really deteriorated since we were last, very disappointing. Lots if shacks on-site which are a real eye sore. A sewer backed up at one of the sites and poured sewage all over the site and they actually put us on the one next to it after we told them don't put us there, geez.

By user-6130368... on 2019-08-09. Stayed 2018-10-26 to 2018-10-28

I love Sun key all this being very nice after the hurricane back soon thank you

| Excellent RV Park

By user-5859783... on 2019-08-09. Stayed 2018-11-10 to 2018-11-13

Park Delight.... we have enjoyed this beauty... this weekend....... this is going very well.. Thanks for the effort. A year ago Irma smashed it and today all this new....

| Huge.... Huge! Park for 399 units.

By user-5855779... on 2019-08-09. Stayed 2019-02-03 to 2019-02-04

Used as an overnighter, way more RV park than what I needed but very close to my next morning check in at Winter Star Party and well, you try and find an open spot in the Keys in February! Too much to do that we never utilized, many rentable permanent units if you have no RV, many winter residents, a little pricey for my needs but... any port in a storm! IF you are going to winter or spend extended vacation in the Keys, this is a very friendly, very equipped, very sociable resort.

| Perfect spot in the Keys

By user-unknown on 2019-08-09. Stayed 2019-03-20 to 2019-03-23

My wife, kids and I stayed for 3 nights during spring break. My kids are college age, so I don t have an opinion as to how younger children like the park, but my kids loved it, as did my wife and I. We splurged and rented a spot on the water and couldn t have been more pleased. I have a 44 fifth wheel and fit easily into the site, with enough room for my DRW F350 on the side. The site was clean and the utilities worked great. Anyone with whom we made contact were friendly and helpful, from checking in, to being shown to our site, to renting kayaks, everyone was courteous and professional. The Park, generally, was clean and easy to navigate. There is a marina if you have a boat, you can hire a boat and captain on site (Captain Brian is great), there are b-ball courts, volleyball courts, and the list goes on. It is a great spot in the Keys that puts you close to what the Keys as a whole have to offer. My wife and I will be back for a much longer stay.

| Beautiful updated resort

By user-5496721... on 2019-08-09. Stayed 2019-01-27 to 2019-02-12

My husband and I spent 16 days here from 1/27-2/12. We loved the beautiful area. The Sunset Pier was a great spot each night to watch the sunset over the Gulf of Mexico. The marina is a great place to launch a boat - we don t have one but we did rent a kayak a few times and had a great time paddling around from the Gulf over to the Atlantic Ocean. The beach is small and there was a lot of seaweed - but that is the nature of Key beaches. The park was sparkling clean and the employees were helpful. They had great events like live music, a farmers market and an ice cream social. The pool is large and well maintained with tropical tiki huts. You are only 45 minutes from Key West and within 15 minutes of many restaurants and shopping on Marathon Key and Big Pine Key. It was very quiet although our site was close to Route 1 so we could hear the traffic but it was not a negative as we knew we made our reservation late in the season. The reasons I did not give it 5 stars are: 1- Sewer Hookup - on our site- and all sites in our row - our sewer hookup was in the middle of our neighbor s site. Most sites in the park, the sewer hookup was near the rig, but our row was obviously done without thought to the placement. 2- WiFi- 4 days before we checked out, the free WIFi (which was not very good) became a chargeable item. We were not made aware of this when we made our reservation, nor upon check in. We went to the office to let them know we were having trouble connecting and they told us that the day before they had started charging a fee. I don t remember the amount, but unless they did a big upgrade, it was not worth paying for it. 3- Price. I understand that you are paying for the location, however, we paid over $100 per night, then they wanted to charge us for lousy WiFi. Some roads are paved, but many are coral gravel and all the sites are coral gravel which was sharp to walk on and created a lot of dust. There is no grass at any site and very few trees so no shade. 4- Rental RVs- There were 2 rows of rental RVs. We saw maybe 5 unites rented - nearly on the weekend- the issue for me was that they had prime spots near the beach. We would have loved to be in one of those spots!

| May 2019 - Exceptional sunsets

By user-6146824... on 2019-08-09. Stayed 2019-05-16 to 2019-05-22

Staff very friendly and well prepared for check in. I was escorted to site by Matt, friendly guy. Stayed on site 454, waterfront. FHU worked great, but all connections are on the opposite side when facing a motorhome towards the water. So, bring extra long water and sewer hoses. Basically, sites were designed for back in. However, once you get settled, the views are exceptional. Overall, I would highly recommend this place if you can get a waterfront site. Otherwise, you are basically in a open area of roads and RVs with no water views. Pool is very nice and they have a deck area off the bay for swimming. I would only recommend this place for older folks, as there isn't much for kids and only a waterfront site. Wifi is extra.