Reviews for T.H. Stone Memorial St Joseph Peninsula State Park

| Majestic Beauty

By user-992001 on 2017-10-23.

I would like to see sites with a bit more privacy however the park this site is located in is really beautiful. If you want to get the most out of it be sure to hike in to the nature preserve and follow one of the primitive campsite trails to the east coast where you will walk amongst sand dunes much larger than those further south on the beach.

| Nice park

By user-5871451... on 2017-10-23.

Nice Rv park ! If you are not picky you would like it :) it's just 27$/night! Beautiful beach , unbelievable sunsets!!!

| Nature!

By user-5828023... on 2017-10-23.

We really enjoyed our stay. It's like staying in the woods with lots of privacy and quiet, but with comforts available if you choose to indulge yourselves. Some don't seem to enjoy nature as much as others though. When we arrived at our site the wife and mother of the two girls walked up to us as we set up. She told us the raccoons were mischievous, there was an armadillo in the bushes next to us, and the No see-ums had really bothered her husband the past 3 days and that they were leaving now, a day early. We offered them our "Skin So Soft" and asked if it would keep them from leaving. We asked the daughter if the animals spooked her and she said "No" and smiled. Maybe mom was just ready to go. We recommend this park it to all that love the miles of open park beach, fishing, and peaceful breezes. Dale and Judy

| Nice park but small sites

By user-5827104... on 2017-10-23. Stayed 2017-01-24 to 2017-01-26

I would probably give this a 3.5 rating. This park is quite isolated, so the glorious beaches are almost empty. We enjoyed biking through the park and beyond on a nice bike trail. Good restrooms. Our site was extremely tight with very little privacy.

| Quiet. Remote.

By user-6033080... on 2017-10-23.

Pretty with lots of trees. Close to beach or bay. Fish, kayak, ride bikes, lay on beach, hike. Nice bath facilities. Some spots are sand and some are concrete. No internet and barely a Verizon cell signal. There are two loops; the front one is ok, but the back one is much prettier. Get back there if you have the choice.

By user-5838132... on 2017-10-23.

A very nice park. Beautiful beach that feels quite private. Good facilities. As far as activities you obviously should be into the beach. There was one hiking trail that I found and it was sugar sand, through the woods/scrub, no water stops. So maybe don't go out on a hike or run without water for 10 miles cause it is Florida and 90% humidity and you'll think about death. But maybe that's a me thing.

| Amazing Florida Experience

By user-5348165... on 2017-10-23. Stayed 2015-06-12 to 2015-06-14

This campground is amazing. From pristine beaches to great hiking, this place is perfect for families. The best part of the campground is that there are very few people, and the evenings are super quiet. There is plenty of snorkeling in the bay side of the peninsula, or you can go wave crashing on the gulf side. The second tallest sand dune in the USA is in this park, though it's a full 5-mile hike to see it. Restrooms were clean, showers were free, and this is an absolute gem. One word of caution - research your site carefully, there are many challenging sites for longer RVs - if the website lists a maximum length, think twice before pushing the limits. Also, be sure to call the campground a week before you arrive and get the gate code. Late arrivals will be challenged getting past the locked gate.

| Great Campground

By user-5900247... on 2017-10-23. Stayed 2015-12-11 to 2015-12-13

If you want quiet & a beautiful deserted beach, this place is for you! Nice clean spaces with concrete pads. The bathrooms were amazingly clean & the best shower room of our trip! All in all it was a great place to stay.

By user-4816638... on 2017-10-23.

| Best State park we visited!

By user-5898703... on 2017-10-23.

This place is definitely the place to be. It was absolutely beautiful!! The beaches were gorgeous. Great trails. Friendly staff. Clean bathrooms. We went scalloping in the Gulf and had the best time! On a cross country trip from Ca., and this State Park is the best one we've been to thus far. Would love to go back.

| Beautiful

By user-5861197... on 2017-10-23. Stayed 2017-04-23 to 2017-04-28

Yet another beautiful Florida State Park, this one set out at the “end of the line” as the ranger put it. Everything maintained beautifully. Nothing commercial near by. A short walk from either of the campgrounds over to a long beach. Also a wilderness area for seven miles north of the campground. Lots of folks fish on the beach—and catch fish, too. Water and electric hookups; no full. You will need noseeum screen or to turn on your ac (not a favorite of ours).

| Beatuful State park

By user-5255395... on 2017-10-23.

As mentioned, the sites are close together. But there are shrubs between each vehicle, and you don't notice your neighbor so much. The beach was long and wide and deserted. Bathrooms were newly remodeled, quite spacious and heated. Rusty washers and dryers, but others were using them. We walked in the nature trail to the first camp site but it was on the bay side. Drive as far as you can, and then you can walk to some very large dunes. Stop at the visitor center for some good ideas. Great restaurants in the little town.

| Very Nice park

By user-4872902... on 2018-03-14. Stayed 2018-01-20 to 2018-01-24

We were very impressed with this park. Beautiful beaches that stretch for miles. Grounds were well kept and managed. Bathouses were clean and neat. The sites at the Gulf Breeze campground were a little tight but secluded. We stayed there and enjoyed the short walk to the beach. The Shady Pines campground had larger sites and lots of trees. Downside, longer walk to beach. Nice walking trailed and free Wi-Fi at the picknick pavilion. Will visit again

| Great park!

By user-5746987... on 2018-05-17. Stayed 2018-04-02 to 2018-04-04

Other reviews are very accurate! Great sunsets. Gulf Breeze campground closer to beach and kayak rentals than Shady Pines camp area. Small convenience store in park that is the boat concession.

| Great relaxing stay...

By user-6395993... on 2018-07-06. Stayed 2018-06-17 to 2018-06-21

Remote but beautiful area. Obviously, you need to love the beach as that is the premier draw. Verizon cell phones still worked pretty good for calling but anything with data you would have to go to the free wifi zones. Bathhouses were nice enough but really hot during the day, maybe consider a few fans to circulate the air. Lots of shade...will definitely be back. Also, my son loved looking at all the shells on the beach.

| Campground CLOSED

By user-6410205... on 2019-08-09. Stayed 2019-03-11 to 2019-03-11

Website says campground is closed due to damage of hurricane Michael. No date to reopen